Back to school: Teaching archaeology of sex and gender

Posted on September 21, 2010

0


I started this blog for one reason: to create a space in support of people like me who have been teaching the archaeology of sex and gender.

My book, Ancient Bodies, Ancient Lives, was written as a tangible product of the rewarding experience of teaching the course I developed at Berkeley, Letters & Sciences 180A: Archaeology of Sex and Gender. After offering this course multiple times, I think I have found some ways to teach complicated material across multiple disciplines. The first 24 blog entries went systematically through the way I structured my course and how I teach this material.

Having finished those entries in May, I realized I had a space where I could continue pointing out how new research reports can be incorporated in teaching about archaeology of sex and gender. That has taken me through the summer, and I trust that the material will keep on coming for what has become an enjoyable way for me to share my reactions to some of the press coverage of archaeology and some of the unexamined assumptions archaeologists sometimes blurt out when in contact with the press.

But as the summer research season wound down, I saw the material drying up. Instead of fresh news articles about field projects, my news agents return announcements of lectures at local colleges.

So: it’s back to school time! This time around, I will be sharing more notes on readings I assign for the course, and especially, the readings students turn up in their bibliographic research.

I hope by returning to the topic of how we might teach archaeology of sex and gender for a while, that this blog will be useful for others teaching this fall and preparing to teach this coming spring.

Join us!

If I miss your public syllabus here, and you want to share, submit a comment and we will add it to this list:

Bettina Arnold of University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee’s Gender and Archaeology

Sarah Croucher at Wesleyan University’s Feminist and Gender Archaeology

Kelley Hayes-Gilpin of Northern Arizona University’s  Gender and Archaeology

Cynthia Klink of Oneonta’s Women and Gender in Prehistory

Susan Kus of Rhodes College’s Women in Prehistory and Women Prehistorians

Alan Zagarell of Western Michigan University’s Archaeology of Gender

And some resources from other disciplines:

Anne Dalkey and Gus Stadler’s Bryn Mawr course Knowing the Body: Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Sex and Gender

Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World

plus a long list of syllabi for courses on gender in Classics or the ancient classical world